180SX Progress

I managed to fix the gearbox by swapping over the input shaft from Max’s broken gearbox, however after putting it all back together it has a slight whine(Which Max always had) So I am going to give that gearbox a good run and see how it goes.

Next up was some maintenance on the engine bay. The silicon elbow off the turbo had a big hole in it so I replaced that, The intercooler piping is pretty dodgy, on the hot side there are joiners making up for missing pipe etc, so I will be making up some new intercooler piping in the long run.

The Radiator overflow bottle also was showing its age with the typical cracks, so I welded that up. It was only a quick job and although its watertight I still have to sand it down and tidy it up!

Before:

After:

I also took it for a warrant of fitness, after sitting around for 3 years it flew through! The rear hubs have now been swapped for S14 5 stud items, and I’m halfway through running the front loom through the engine bay. If all goes to plan I should have it out on track for some testing at our next Advance day on August 20th, but there is still alot more work to be carried out!

Leave a comment